Maya’s song of destruction and avenging

The hills around the town were burning

Pines were scorching

I heard shots being fired

My people screaming

Begging for mercy

At the hand of the opposer

Bodies crumpled

My family

Was tore apart

They kneeled at death’s doorstep

They cried and asked for a final blessing

Darkness overcame them

I saw it flash in their eyes

I saw relief wash all the pain away.

Rivulets of blood

Ran down the hillside

They tainted grass

Turned dirt scarlet red.

I saw strangers laughing

Strutting around

I saw them burning my town down.

After death was gone,

after night had dawned,

when the monsters left the ruins:

I saw peace rising up,

after clouds of dust

I saw love speed up the hillside

I heard screaming

Praying that all was a lie

I heard the muffled yells

The broken hugs

I heard crying

Sobbing

Trashing around

I heard footsteps

Coming

I heard

A whisper

I rose up

From under the roots of my dignity

I heard my last shred of hope utter one word:

“Maya?”

Leave a comment